“There is a place. Like no place on Earth. A land full of wonder, mystery, and danger! Some say to survive it: You need to be as mad as a hatter.”

To me, there is not much more excitement than the Life of Miss Alice Kingsley, from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking Glass.” The novel was written in 1865 and since then been developed into over 25 different television and cinema adaptations, dating back to 1903. I was pleased to find that the BFI National Archive recently restored the stories first silent film adaptation to almost its original form. I hope you find this LINK as fascinating as I did.

The beauty of Alice and her adventures are their endless possibilities. The characters, plot, theme, symbolism, speech, and imagery are just a few of the literary tools Carroll used efficiently enough to create over a hundred years of inspired people, to bring such a telling tale to life through film.

In the most recent 2010 adaptation of “Alice in Wonderland,” director Tim Burton completely dissects the mind of Carroll’s novel and revolutionizes the possibilities found on the pages. Oh the many beautiful qualities this film possesses. I know where the list would begin and fortunately for you, I’ll end with the beginning, and try to keep it short and sweet, because if not this post could quite possibly continue…forever. Above anything else, “Alice in Wonderland” has always painted a beautiful picture in my head of the most unique setting, clothes, characters, and magical events. I admit with humility that the newest version of the film captured the art within the story greater than I have ever imagined it before. Despite my lack of experience, finances, and crazy but brilliant mind of Tim Burton, I decided that I too can let Alice inspire me to produce beautiful art. To my advantage, I have a gorgeous model for a brother and my best friend has a creative eye with a pretty top-notch camera.

-“What is the use of a book, without pictures or conversations?”-Alice


-Life is better in blue.

Anyone can go by horse or rail, but the absolute best way to travel is by hat. Have I made a rhyme?”-The Mad Hatter


“Fairfarren Alice

Photo Credit: Aly Habina

Leave a Reply

