“If this is your first night at Fight Club, you have to fight”

Warning! I’m breaking rule number one of “Fight Club“…If you don’t know what that means, I advise reading no further until you have watched the film.

Frustrated. Can’t sleep. Time to create something crazyWell, I suppose this is how Narrator felt…thus Tyler Durden. Hopefully I can create a Brad Pitt blog post for you.

The novel “Fight Club,” by Chuck Palahniuk hit the shelves in 1996 and was later adapted into a movie by director, David Fincher. The film stars Edward Norton as the unnamed protagonist, and Brad Pitt as Tyler Durden, who is everything Narrator is not.

Every time I watch”Fight Club” something new punches me in the face (pun intended). In all seriousness, there is no denying the deeper meaning within basically every aspect of the movie. I had a friend once tell me, “Fight Club changed my life.”

For me, “Fight Club” is living your life for what it is. It’s about taking advantage of every last second, and letting it all fall down. It is leaving us completely naked and being willing to accept LIFE, and that which makes us uncomfortable, instead of running from it. Now, as I said before, this is a film that I can’t watch without discovering something completely different from each time i saw it  before…

…after reading many pretty boring essays of  “Fight Club” interpretations, I came across something MUCH better. Here we have an interview with Chuck Palahniuk, after the film was made. Once again, more clarity…

Hmm well, after all of that I think Instead of boring you with ANY MORE rambling words of theories, ideas, and thoughts..I’ll show you what “Fight Club” means to me. Feel free to interpret anything and everything. It all means something.

“…And you open the door and you step inside.”


“This is your life. Good to the last drop. Doesn’t get any better than this”



“Only after disaster can we be resurrected. It’s  only after you’ve lost everything that you are  free to do anything.”



“You have to give up…You have to give up”

“This is your life, and it’s ending one minute at a time…”


“I want you to hit me as hard as you can!”

Photo Credit: Alyse Habina

Leave a Reply

